Has anyone ever had any problems with Blue Underground discs skipping?

Discussion in 'General' started by Novosibirsk, Apr 9, 2009.

  1. Novosibirsk

    Novosibirsk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Can-Con
    I have maybe 3-4 DVDs that are barely watchable in my DVD player...very strange.

    Autopsy, Shock, Delirium...they all skip.

    This has also happened with a few No Shame discs. Could it be due to the "Region 0" NTSC status? aka time to get a new DVD player...
     
  2. Hmmm interesting. I have an unusually long line of Blue-Underground discs, and all as of now work fine in my up-converter home theatre system player, but then again having Asperger's Syndrome and obsessive compulsive disorder, I take unusually GREAT care of my genre films on DVD.

    Are the DVDs in fine condition? If not, maybe a new theater system is in order. Check around a lot, though. Try many other companies DVDs to make sure it's them as well. Try all the Blue-Underground discs you can find first.
     
  3. x666x

    x666x Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Messages:
    2,125
    Likes Received:
    251
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Canada
    I have a bunch and they work fine. If your dvd player cannot play region 0 I'd say it is worth getting a new player.
     
  4. Novosibirsk

    Novosibirsk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Can-Con
    Hmmm....yeah. All my BU discs are new and free of scratches, but it's just strange that the rest of my Reg. 1 discs work fine.
     
  5. Novosibirsk

    Novosibirsk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Can-Con
    Yeah, I'm guessing this is what I'll have to do.
     
  6. Katatonia

    Katatonia Hellbound Heart

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    23,074
    Likes Received:
    4,671
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Missouri
    It depends on the DVD player also. If it's a cheap brand, it's more likely to have problems playing certain discs. It may skip in one player, and play just fine in another.
     
  7. Was Anthropophagus on BU? If so when I bought that one at a Best Buy, it would not even play at all on my player, I had to use a different player, then I took the DVD back. I did not like the movie anyway.
     
  8. Erick H.

    Erick H. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    9,606
    Likes Received:
    271
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Perhaps this is a dumb question but have you tried the discs on a friends player,someone with a different (or newer) machine ? My original DVD player (an early Pioneer) was unable to play certain DVR's and some overseas discs.I have picked up a new machine since and had no problems in that area.Try your discs in someone elses newer machine,if they play okay it might be time for an upgrade.
     
  9. Katatonia

    Katatonia Hellbound Heart

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    23,074
    Likes Received:
    4,671
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Missouri
    No, that one was from Shriek Show/Media Blasters. I remember some of their older discs behaving oddly on my older (5+ years ago) Sony player.
     
  10. Devo1313

    Devo1313 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I still can't get a Toolbox Murders to play and I've went through 5 of them. None of them played and I returned them.
     
  11. Really? Whoa, that is interesting. The original Toolbox Murders (not the more modern Tobe Hooper one) was one of they're first titles as I recall, so I wonder if that has anything at all to do with defective discs? Though I doubt it, it's worth pondering. As I said I have a large number of they're stuff going back to The Prowler and Toolbox Murders, ect.

    I'm sorry to hear that happened. Man goin' through five of'em.
     
  12. f.ramses

    f.ramses sociopath

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,475
    Likes Received:
    562
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    region 0
    I have a some BU discs (15+) and this is the only one that skips. I watched the majority of them on my computer and all but this one played fine. I haven't tried it on any of the standalone players and I don't intend to, if all the others played fine on the PC then I would expect this one to play too. Even if it plays fine on another player doesn't mean the disc isn't defective, in my experience some are just better at handling errors than others. (For example, my Death Walks in High Heels will just stop about 1:20:00 into the movie on one player but in another it just starts to skip a little at that point and I can finish the movie.) If you can exchange these I'd just do that to be on the safe side, worry about the player after that.
     
  13. Ash28M

    Ash28M Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    6,063
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Mississauga, ON, Canada
    Yeah I had a problem with few of thier discs. Not so much the ones I bought but the ones I rented.
     
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2009
  14. maybrick

    maybrick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2001
    Messages:
    11,667
    Likes Received:
    1,245
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Keene, NH
    That definitely sounds like more of a player compatibility issue than anything. It probably just doesn't like the way the DVD has been formatted. Replacing the disc isn't going to help.
     
  15. gunner

    gunner Cropsy Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Messages:
    937
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Bar Harbor, Maine
    I haven't noticed any problems at all with any of the BU titles I own. But all their old Anchor Bay re-release stuff I never purchased because I own the original AB discs.
    I've heard several others complain about The Toolbox Murders. The first pressings of Toolbox, The Prowler & Shockwaves were done by Image, and they worked beautifully, no complaints from anyone. These Image pressings became obscure, then after BU switched to Ryko, they pressed more copies of all three. Everyone was complaining about Toolbox not playing or freezing up with the Ryko discs. Strangely, the other two seemed to made the transition flawlessly. So, for a playable Toolbox Murders go to used shops and look for the Image logo on the back cover.
     
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2009
  16. HellRazor

    HellRazor New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2001
    Messages:
    814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think they must have had a bad pressing on this title. I had a similar problem, it would play so far and then just totally stop. Had to order a replacement and the replacement worked fine.
     
  17. maybrick

    maybrick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2001
    Messages:
    11,667
    Likes Received:
    1,245
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Keene, NH
    I have a first pressing of The Toolbox Murders. There is no Image logo on the back cover.
     
  18. gunner

    gunner Cropsy Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Messages:
    937
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Bar Harbor, Maine
     
  19. gobad2003

    gobad2003 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    293
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I never had a problem with the Toolbox murders disc but I've had many other problems with other discs such as the "Abyss" and "Carlito's Way". I replaced those discs many times to no avail. The problems only stopped when I got rid of My old player and upgraded to a higher end player with the tilt mechanism drive that will play even damaged discs without a hitch. Now I can play any disc even the ones I used to have problems with.

    I guess the old saying goes "you get what you pay for";)
     
  20. Novosibirsk

    Novosibirsk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Can-Con
    Yeah. That is exactly what happened to me with Death Walks in High Heels...I had to FFWD for 10 minutes until it would work again.
     
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2009

Share This Page