Watching the F13 series for the first time. Looking for your insight and opinions

Discussion in 'Slashers' started by crikan, Oct 13, 2009.

1. crikan

crikan Well-Known Member

The Friday the 13th series is one of the horror franchises I missed out on growing up. I did catch the first one about five years ago and watched parts 2 and 4 three years ago, but for the most part I’m fairly new to the series. So I decided I’d watch all of them in the month of October. I’d love to read some opinions on what makes this series so great and what the best installments are. As I watch them I’m sure I’ll have some questions for the die-hards and some comments to share.

I watched the Friday the 13th Uncut on blu-ray and really enjoyed it. It would have been nice not to know Mrs. Voorhess was the killer but the rock I live under isn’t that big. It’s a fun movie that I’ll definitely watch again but I certainly don’t think of it as masterpiece like John Carpenter’s Halloween. It’s funny how casual pot smoking is in 80’s slashers. It seems like it’s in most of them, but I rarely see it in any other film where drugs aren’t the focus.

Part 2 is a lot of fun as well. The cast of victims is great. It could have been one of the best slashers ever but this version of Jason was a bit too small and the sack was boring. I wonder if series would have remained as successful and Jason become so iconic if he had never donned the hockey mask. The way Jason went from efficient killer to bumbling stooge when it came to Final Girl got ridiculous as well. I’m sure this criticism is unfair and maybe a product of watching a lot of slashers in a short span.