PDA

View Full Version : Tenebre vs. Unsane

Suicide
07-24-2001, 06:46 PM
Ok I'm no expert but I think Unsane is the American Tenebre. Am I right? The reason I ask is today at the pawn shop I came across a video of Unsane. I know that Tenebre is out uncut on DVD and what have you, but I can get the Unsane video for like $3, and I haven't seen the Tenebre DVD around here. Plus I'm afraid of the Anchor Bay Argento DVD's after my Deep Red mishap.
So my question is how badly cut is the Unsane video, is it just missing a few gore scenes, or does it have key story elements removed? I would have just bought it for the hell of it, but there was a big ass line.

Paff
07-24-2001, 07:36 PM
I've kinda wanted to see Unsane as a goof, just to see how different it is, maybe do a side-by-side comparison. I've been meaning to do that with Phenomena/Creepers as well.

But I can't possibly see why anyone would consider an edited VHS version over an uncut DVD. Or anything on VHS over a disc version for that matter. I bought a copy of Nonhosonno on tape this weekend, and while I haven't watched it all the way through yet, I previewed the first few minutes and was quickly annoyed with crappy picture you have with VHS. How is this format still alive?

so to answer your question, I'd say buy it as a curiousity, but don't watch it until you've seen the REAL version first. As far as concerns with it locking up, what kind of DVD player are you using? I have an entry-level Toshiba, and had no problems, other than an obviously defective Traffic disc. I have several Anchor Bay discs, and they're all top-notch, including (and especially) Deep Red.

Mario77
07-24-2001, 09:06 PM
I also have an entery level Toshiba and have never had any problems with Anchor Bay discs; hell, I've never even had any problems with the Phenomena disc that everyone gripes about.