PDA

View Full Version : Argento/Fulci

keith70
07-30-2001, 01:02 AM
I'm pretty new to the Italian horror scene and was wondering what everyone considers to be the best from Fulci and Argento.
From Argento I have seen Deep Red & Suspiria. From Fulci, I have seen Zombie & The Beyond. Besides these four films, what would you recommend from the directors? I own the Beyond & am getting anxious about that Suspira set.

Also, what's a good Bava film? I've seen Lisa and the Devil. Sorry, but I thought it sucked big time. And yes, it was uncut. The only other Bava film I've seen is Danger Diabolik!(Non-horror).

ScaryMovieFreak
07-30-2001, 01:32 AM
I'm not an Argento fan so I can't help you on him.

Lucio Fulci is probably one of my favorite directors. You should also check out his films, "New York Ripper," "City of the Living Dead" aka "Gates of Hell." "House by the Cemetery," and "Don't Torture a Duckling."

As for Mario Bava, I have only seen one of his movies and that is "Blood and Black Lace." It was a pretty good one and is the first body count horror movie. Very original. Another one that I've heard is good is "Bay of Blood" aka "Twitch of the Death Nerve." But I've never seen it.

Andrew
07-30-2001, 02:02 AM
OK, Argento.

Easily one of my favorite directors. Definitely check out The Bird with the Crystal Plumage, Tenebre, Cat O' Nine Tales, and Phenomena.

I know next to nothing about Fulci's films. I have the Beyond and Zombie, same as you. I'm eager to see City of the Living Dead and House by the Cemetery, which I'm told are quite good.

Bava is great. Check out Blood and Black Lace, The Whip and the Body, and Twitch of the Death Nerve.

Also, if you're just getting into Italian horror, look for Michele Soavi's Dellamorte Dellamore (Cemetery Man in US). I love it, although I don't understand the ending.

dlundh
07-30-2001, 08:13 AM
I second the motion for Tenebre and Phenomena.