PDA

View Full Version : Favorite Argento flicks

DefJeff
08-15-2001, 02:53 AM
hey .. im pretty new to Argento's stuff ... i just picked up Phenomena and Tenebre today on DVD from Anchor Bay .. didnt watch them yet, but checked out the trailers and extras and they looked great.. so my question is, what is everyones favorite Argento flicks, so i can see what i should check out next, after these.

Jeff

keith70
08-15-2001, 06:47 AM
I would strongly recommend not watching the trailers until after you have seen the movies. Especially with Deep Red. The Deep Red U.S. trailer reveals way too much.
As for my favorite Argento flicks, I'm pretty new myself, but I would say. Suspiria, Deep Red, Tenebrae, Bird with the Crystal Plumage, and Phenomena.
I've heard good things about Opera(Not to be confused with Phantom of the Opera/Avoid that one), Can't Sleep and Four Flies on Grey Velvet, but I haven't seen those.
So far, I've been very happy with the Argento films that I've seen.

Andrew
08-15-2001, 07:08 AM
I too have slowly become a full-fledged Argentophile, ever since I rented Suspiria from Blockbuster. Mid-day, full glare on the TV, parents and younger siblings walking around, and I was still scared. I knew he was a genious.

The next one I saw was Deep Red, which is his second best (to Suspiria, of course). David Hemmings is great, and I started to love Daria Nicolodi. She's not particularly pretty, but I love her all the same. I really don't know why, but she has a kind of motherly quality to her.

Next was Phenomena, if I remember correctly. When I saw it I liked it a good deal. I remember after watching it thinking that I was weird, but don't all 12 year olds at some point? I've slowly decided that I didn't like it so much, but I recently ordered the DVD and it should be here in a few days, so I'll know if I really like it.