PDA

View Full Version : Mario Bava and DVD

mazzariniuk
09-07-2001, 10:28 PM
I am new to Mario Bava, not because I have never heard of him, just that I have never got around to seeing any of his movies. Well all that is going to change over the next few months. I have ordered HOUSE OF EXORCISM/LISA AND THE DEVIL SPECIAL EDITION and it should be arriving any day now. What do you good people think of this man'a films?

skinnypuppy6
09-07-2001, 10:54 PM
i enjoy his film alot . and highly recommend starting a collection of his many films on dvd

Erg0n
09-08-2001, 12:29 AM
does any of his films have a special edition treatment like dario argento's?

mazzariniuk
09-08-2001, 12:39 AM
HOUSE OF EXORCISM/LISA AND THE DEVIL is a Special Edition because it features both versions of the film, LATD by Bava and HOE which was re-edited by producer Alfredo Leone. HOE also features a commentary by Leone and star Elke Sommer, there are also trailers, bios, stills gallery, Liner notes and a deleted scene for good measure.

skinnypuppy6
09-08-2001, 02:11 AM
VCI has two Special Editions they are: Blood And Black Lace and The Whip And The Body and Image has the whole "Mario Bava Collection" thing going wich compared to most Image discs all of those are S.E's

crank
09-08-2001, 06:50 AM
I think the most special thing about Bava DVDs is the fact that you can get almost everyone of his horror movies on DVD now. I own 15 Mario Bava DVDs and I still don't have all of them. He has to be the best represented Eurohorror director out there at the moment. (although Jess Franco will be quickly catching up in the next couple of months)

crank

Paff
09-08-2001, 10:27 AM
Is Baron Blood out on DVD?