PDA

View Full Version : 16:9 and other ratios.

Horrorphilly
02-06-2008, 03:52 AM
Can someone help me? I have a w/s tv and you can watch movies in 4 different screen types.

side bar
smart stretch
zoom
stretch

Now on my dvd player,you can watch movies in

4:3 ps
4:3 lb
16:9

Heres my question.Is there a option on tv's where I can set the tv to automaticly adjust to the specific dvds? I looked in my manuals and there is nothing that mentions setting the tv/dvd player to automaticly adjust to different dvd's

Also 16:9,I thought there were no black bars during the movie?

Im sorry,if this post comes up alot,but im a newb when it comes to new tv that are w/s.

Thanks
Sean

Matt89
02-06-2008, 04:27 AM
Ok well if the DVDs are anamorphic widescreen (16x9) then you should have your DVD player set on 16x9. (You really should have it at 16x9 all the time) but if the DVD is non-anamorphic, the TV won't "stretch" the image. Anamorphic basically means that the DVD can expand and stretch to accomodate your widescreen TV and thus be viewed properly. When a DVD is non-anamorphic, that generally means it was designed for 4x3 TVs. (But in this day and age, it shows pure laziness on behalf of the studio that released it.) But a non-anamorphic DVD on a widescreen TV will be shown in a 4x3 "box". It doesn't stretch and expand to fill the entire area of your widescreen TV.

As to with the bars disappearing, what was the aspect ratio of the film you played? Usually if it's 2.20:1, 2.35:1, 2.40:1 (etc) or higher, it won't entirely eliminate the bars, however if it is 1.85:1, 1.66:1, 1.78:1 the bars will be entirely eliminated. Just because every widescreen ratio has a certain amount of screen space. The TV has to adjust so the film can be viewed properly. Hope that helps.

On your TV however, I'd probably choose smart stretch. But, try them all out a decide nfor yourself which one looks most proper.

~Matt

Matt89
02-06-2008, 04:29 AM