PDA

View Full Version : HDTV Recorders


Dave
03-21-2008, 09:38 PM
So I've been looking at HDTV recorders. I am absolutely dying to get some of the Full Moon movies off of Monsters HD (ones that I have original copies to). They put every other release to absolute shame; there is no comparison whatsoever.

First up, does anyone have the R5000-HD? I'm trying to find out more info. Apparently its lets you archive HD signals to your PC.

Second, why are the Full Moon movies shown 1.85:1 on Monsters HD? Aren't these all 1.33:1?

Reverenddave
03-21-2008, 10:47 PM
Second, why are the Full Moon movies shown 1.85:1 on Monsters HD? Aren't these all 1.33:1?

I imagine it's the same reason TNTHD stretches a 1.33 TV show to 1.85. Or why HBOHD cuts the sides off a 2.35 movie to 1.85. They want it to fit on the TV screen.

Everytime I go to Best Buy, I hear some J6P saying, "I spent over $1000 on a widescreen TV so I wouldn't have to deal with the damn black bars".

Dave
03-21-2008, 11:11 PM
The problem with that theory is they show tons of other movies in 4x3 with black bars on the sides.

baggio
03-22-2008, 03:05 PM
So I've been looking at HDTV recorders. I am absolutely dying to get some of the Full Moon movies off of Monsters HD (ones that I have original copies to). They put every other release to absolute shame; there is no comparison whatsoever.

First up, does anyone have the R5000-HD? I'm trying to find out more info. Apparently its lets you archive HD signals to your PC.



Not too familiar with R5000-HD. But I have a question. Am I right in saying that they don't make Recorders with Hard Drives anymore? Except for TIVO & dvr boxes from your local cable company.

Dave
03-22-2008, 03:20 PM
Unsure. The R5000-HD actually has a USB output so you can get the signal to the hard drive on your computer.

What's so great about the R5000-HD is it simply passes along the signal, so you're getting the original image - untouched.

baggio
03-22-2008, 03:56 PM
Unsure. The R5000-HD actually has a USB output so you can get the signal to the hard drive on your computer.

What's so great about the R5000-HD is it simply passes along the signal, so you're getting the original image - untouched.

Its a little confusing. Your cable box needs to be modified for the R5000-HD to work?

Also what about the dvd recorders/dvr with hard drives. No more? Was it the cutting out commercials issues? Every brand had one one , now no more. I think.

Dave
03-22-2008, 04:54 PM
The box has to be modified, yes. I still may do it but it will take a few months for me to budget it in.

No idea on the dvd recorders, but they wouldn't record at 1080i and it wouldn't be the native signal like the R5000.

Slug
04-06-2008, 07:13 PM
is this what you are looking for
http://www.engadgethd.com/2008/04/04/hauppauge-hd-pvr-shows-itself-pre-order-said-to-be-coming-soon/