PDA

View Full Version : Best of the Best In Laser Disks

Egg_Shen
12-20-2001, 11:27 PM
Yes, I want to know what you collectors out there consider to be the greatest titles on the format. I'm new to LD's and just recently picked up The Fog, Escape From New York, Halloween CAV Criterion Edition and Dawn of the Dead CAV Box Set. Those titles are a big part of why I wanted to get a player and now that I have em' I want to get some ideas for future investments.

bigdaddyhorse
12-21-2001, 03:05 AM
Howling S.E. is loaded. From what I've heard, a lot of the stuff still won't be on the upcoming S.E. dvd.
Leatherface TCM3 is sweet too. Un-cut, 2 commentary tracks, deleted scenes, alt. ending.
Nightmare on Elm Street S.E. has tons of stuff not on the dvd or the boxset disc. 30 minutes of Deleted Scenes, storyboards, letters of rejection from movie studios, test screen results, test Freddy voices and more I can't remember (maybe the script and some "making of")

For some non horror titles I've found;
Sid and Nancy Criterion has more stuff than the dvd, esp. photos and articles on the real Sid and the Sex Pistols U.S. tour.
Boyz in tha Hood Cri. has commentary, deleted scenes and screen tests.
Menace II Society Cri. has 2 comm. (one from each Hughes bro.), & deleted scenes.
Spinal Tap Cri. has all the dvd stuff, 2 different comm. than MGM dvd, and some diff. deleted scenes than MGM. Plus it's afforable. Same with The Killer.
Scream is un-cut with more gore than all the dvds, and the same commentary. These are cheap on ebay.

Egg_Shen
12-21-2001, 04:37 AM