PDA

View Full Version : Rhett's Halloween Top Ten 2011

rhett
10-29-2011, 07:01 AM
This is my eighth Halloween list on the site. I've been democratic to all countries, eras and genres, but at this point in my life, where free time seems impossible to come by, I only have time for the essentials, and for me, that means slashers. Below I offer to Samhain ten slashers that still really mean something to me and to this holiday. Ten slashers wherein, this busy time of year, I’ve found solace.
http://horrordigital.com/reviews/pictures/b_rhett11.jpg

I’ve been a member of this site since 2000, I’ve been writing reviews since 2002 and started doing yearly Halloween top tens since 2004. Considering I was only 17 when I signed up for these boards, that’s a significant chunk of my life writing horror. Throughout the years I’ve always tried to keep a varied and balanced top ten, offering a smattering of horror picks from different eras, countries and sub-genres to provide a little something for everyone. Over the years though, I’ve come to realize a few things. One is that with age comes responsibility, and with responsibility comes less time to watch horror movies. When I was in college I was watching at least one movie a day, usually significantly more than that. When I first started writing for the site I was pumping out reviews almost daily, to the point where Dave couldn’t even keep up posting them. It was a growing phase, a time when I just wanted to explore what was out there, regardless of the quality. Now I certainly value my time a lot more considering I have so little free time to enjoy. While I’d love to catch up on movements in 40s or 50s horror or significant contributions from Japan or Korea, more often than not I’m just wanting to sit down with something familiar. Something comfortable. That brings me to my other point: As someone who values a good review just as much as a good movie, I’ve learned that the best film criticism is not the most exhaustive or the m