PDA

View Full Version : Hammer DVD's

y2doublet
03-29-2002, 03:08 PM
Since the Hammer-forum seems to be no more I guess this is the place to post. I found some cheap Hammer DVD's from Anchor Bay and being a complete newbie to the whole Hammer-thing I was wondering which of these are good and worth picking up: Lost Continent, Mummy's Shroud, Plague of the Zombies, Prehistoric Women, Vengeance of She and also Viking Queen. I'm sure I'm gonna get some "they're all so great, pick them all up"-responses but the problem is I don't got the dough to purchase them all. So please pick 2-3 of them that you think I should buy. Thanks!

maybrick
03-29-2002, 06:11 PM
Out of that list the only one I would recommend to a newbie is Plague of the Zombies. The Lost Continent and The Mummy's Shroud are alright but not the best ones to start off a collection with, although The Lost Continent does have a small die hard fan base. The others I own but the only people I would recommend them to would be completists. By Hammer's or anyone else's standards they are sub-par.
Skip Prehistoric Women, Vengeance of She, and The Viking Queen. Definitely pick Plague of the Zombies, and possibly The Lost Continent and The Mummy's Shroud as alternates. Hope I could help.

y2doublet
03-30-2002, 02:58 PM
Thanks man! Excellent answer, it was exactly what I was looking for.

betterdan
03-31-2002, 07:15 AM
If you can find The Reptile for cheap at Suncoast like i did with their AB sale last year then get it. I love this Hammer movie.

Yowie
03-31-2002, 08:02 AM
I love "The Reptile", it's definitely among my favorite Hammers.

pacinofan
04-01-2002, 03:55 PM