PDA

View Full Version : The Witches?

Suicide
01-24-2003, 09:33 AM
Okay, I'm kinda new to Hammer, I've only seen Horror of Dracula so far, I've seen alot of bits and pieces of other Hammer stuff, and all, but HOD is the only I've seen all the way through. But I've got a Hammer book and looking through it there's lot's of stuff I wanna check out. I've seen the Witches at my local Suncoast pretty cheap, and I've read reviews that make it sound like I'd enjoy it, so is it a good one for someone just getting into Hammer stuff to try or should I try something else and lead up to the Witches?

Also while I'm here any one recommend MGM's Hound of the Baskervilles?

dwatts
01-24-2003, 10:55 AM
No knowledge on Hound.

I do own The Witches though. I enjoy it very much indeed. It really does feel like a typical hammer film, with an engaging story, solid acting and an interesting end. Having said that - there is a dance sequence that kinda makes me laugh each time I see it. But I got it for cheap too - and honestly, 99% of the film is genuine Hammer fun. Recommend it highly.

mutleyhyde
01-24-2003, 08:39 PM
The Witches is a very good film, but slightly odd for Hammer, as it's a cross breed between their gothic and modern pieces, but one that I think handles the blend quite well. I say check it out.

As for Hound, it's not the best of Sherlock screen adaptations, but you can't go wrong with Lee and Cushing together. I'd recommend it, putting it on par with the better Corman Poe adaptations as far as cinematic style, and then as I said, for the star pairing. http://www.horrordvds.com/vbulletin/images/icons/icon14.gif

Andrew
01-25-2003, 07:20 PM
HOUND OF THE BASKERVILLES is great. Unfortunately it seems I've LOST THE FUCKING DISC! I don't know how or where it went, but one day I pulled it off the shelf and there was no disc inside. I was quite pissed off. I really liked the movie too.